top of page

Testing two lipsticks on the TPE test piece

I bought two new lipsticks and tried them on the test piece. I did it to see if the color would look as good as I had hoped and also to see if it was easy to remove.

The pink lipstick is supposed to glow in the dark when you shine a UV light on it.

The black lipstick is just regular black lipstick.

So I applied it on the TPE test piece.

There was no problem applying the pink one. But the black one broke after about two seconds of use. It was very dry and did not give off much of a color. I had to use my fingers to hold the broken off piece to be able to apply some pressure to get it to color the test piece.

Even then, the black color is not nearly as dark as I had hoped for. I don't know, maybe I'm supposed to apply several layers over a couple of hours?

Anyway, I left it like that over night. The following day, nothing had happened, as to be expected. But I did want to know how easy it would be to remove it with only soap and water. Because that's quite important. You don't want to put makeup on your doll, only to realize that it won't come off no matter what you do.

So after soap and water, this is what it looked like.

Neither of them came off that easily. Pretty much nothing of the black lipstick came off with only soap and water. So I tried makeup remover on a piece of cotton and started rubbing.

And the results are:

The black lipstick was easily completely removed with makeup remover. However, the lipstick was dry, difficult to apply since you needed to use some pressure. The lipstick broke and it didn't even give me that very dark color I wanted. So I would not recommend this to anyone. In fact, I'm hesitating to use it on either of my dolls. Maybe in the future.

The pink lipstick was not removed even with makeup remover. I tried scrubbing quite a bit. I suppose one could apply different makeup over it. Maybe it will go away in time? But for now, I'm left with a stain there. It was easy to apply and it did show the color I was expecting, so nothing to complain about there. I'm just worried about how to properly remove it. I may use this on one of my dolls in the future as well, but I will give it some time to see if it will go away first of all. So I won't be including any pictures of my dolls wearing either lipsticks for now, sorry. But I did try shining a UV light on the lipstick - and it does glow in the dark! As soon as I find a safe and successful way to remove this from the TPE test piece, I have no reason not to recommend it of course. I may make an update on this later on.

bottom of page