top of page

10 things you may not know about sex doll owners

1. All sex doll owners are not "loners who can't get girlfriends". This is a common preconception based on ignorance for the subject. Of course, some people who buy dolls are loners with limited social skills. But, there are all types of people who buy these dolls.

  • Single people who work a lot and don't have time for relationships.

  • Single people who no longer want to face the risks involved with dating.

  • People with low self esteem or some form of handicap which makes it difficult to meet someone.

  • Married people who wants sex more often than their spouses, but who does not want to cheat.

  • Married couples who want to try threesomes without the complications.

  • People who are sex addicts.

  • Women buy sex dolls too, although it's a lot more common for men to do so.

The list goes on and on. The point is, we are all just regular people. If you have no information on this subject, then it is easy to just lump us all together in the same category. People always look down on things which they don't understand. If you want to understand something, you will have to educate yourself on the subject.

I myself would fall under the category "Single people who no longer want to face the risks involved with dating". There are several reasons, but that's a long story.

2. When people buy sex dolls and they're waiting for the delivery, they often clean their home from top to bottom and make everything look all nice and tidy until their new doll arrives. Kind of like how you would clean your home before someone you just started dating, comes to your home for the first time. This is a very common phenomenon. Some people even buy new furniture and renovate parts of their house so that their new doll will come to a nice home. This is probably partially because you want to have something to do while you are waiting for the delivery also, since waiting is indeed the hardest part.

I myself cleaned my apartment while waiting for every one of my dolls to be delivered.

3. When people buy a sex doll, they usually do so only to have sex with the doll. They don't think much about anything other than just the sex, at first. But after receiving the doll, they often change their mind. It's not just sex that makes you like the doll. Sleeping with it, dressing it, taking pictures and so on, these are common things that people start to enjoy doing. Dolls become more than just sex. They become this whole new hobby which the buyer did not expect. Some people even develop romantic feelings for their dolls, which is not that far-fetched since you do spend a lot of time together and share the most intimate moments together.

I myself did not expect doll ownership to become such a great hobby for me. I have always had only two hobbies in my life (movies and computer games), now I have a third one to focus on. I have no romantic feelings for my dolls, I like them the same way I like my big screen TV, my computer and my DVD collection. But I don't judge those who fall in love with their dolls.

4. It is a very common thing that people buy a full size doll as their first purchase, without considering the weight at all. This "dead weight" comes as a shock to most people. Many of them get discouraged, sell their dolls right away and give up on the whole concept of sex dolls.

I myself were shocked by the weight of Vanessa, the WM140cm with a weight of 23,5kg. It took me a while to learn how to lift and carry her correctly. Patience and practice is the key.

5. Some people buy high quality sex dolls for photography purposes only. It is cheaper than having to hire a model for every shoot. As I said before, dolls are more than just sex. Or at least they can be. It's up to the owner.

I myself obviously did not buy a doll for photography purposes only, even if I did plan to take some pictures of my doll right from the start. I had no idea how much I would enjoy taking pictures of them.

6. After buying a sex doll and discovering how much they enjoy it, people often buy more than just one doll. If your only purpose for having a doll is sex, then one should be enough. But if it turns into a hobby, then you will probably want to buy more of them. There are those who buy 5, 10, sometimes even more than 15 sex dolls. It can easily turn into a collection. How common this actually is, is hard to say. But I do know that many doll owners have more than just one doll.

I myself have three TPE dolls so far. I will probably buy more of them in the future. Before I had any dolls, I did not know whether or not I would ever buy more than one. But after receiving my first doll, I started planning my next purchase almost immediately.

7. A big part of sex dolls, is about being able to live out your fantasies. It doesn't matter if you are married and your wife refuses to have anal sex or if you are a single guy who likes women with enormous breasts. There are dolls to suit all your fantasies and preferences. The doll is an object and you can use it however you want to. It is never going to tell you "no". And of course it is better if you live out your anal sex fantasies with your doll, than trying to pressure your wife or girlfriend into it. It can be quite difficult to find a partner in life who enjoys the same things you do and also, for example, have the body type you desire. Women with abnormally large breasts can be difficult to find. Even if you find them, they may not be interested in you. These fantasies and desires can be satisfied with dolls.

I myself have always loved anal sex with women, but not all women are into it. It is also important to me that my partner is very attractive, but very attractive women usually have high standards which I can not always live up to.

8. Since sex dolls are not socially accepted in society (yet), most people tend to keep their dolls a secret. Considering the amount of sex dolls that are being sold every single day, without even knowing it, you probably already know someone who owns a doll.

Tip for new owners: Be careful who you tell about your dolls. Once you told them, you can never "un-tell" them. Many people have lost so called "friends" just by being honest and told them about their dolls. Some people are just too insecure and will never accept anything which deviates even the slightest from socially accepted behavior. You can never know for sure whether or not someone will spread your secret. Telling one wrong person means you can suddenly become a social pariah.

I myself have only told one person about my dolls, the only person I fully trust. I don't plan on telling anyone else.

9. Loneliness can be a very destuctive force. If you feel very lonely, then desperation and depression is right around the corner. As I said before, not all sex doll owners are loners. However, many of those who feel lonely, find that dolls are more or less a cure for loneliness. Many doll owners have reported that their dolls have not only made them feel less lonely, but also that they have changed their self image for the better and improved their happiness and life quality in general.

I myself feel better about my situation now that I have sex dolls. Loneliness has never bothered me, although I have felt the need to have a sexual partner for the most part of my adult life. But I no longer think about trying to meet someone. I am satisfied with just being by myself and with my dolls. I no longer feel that I need a partner in my life. I am more self-reliant than I have ever been before.

10. Sex dolls are sometimes used for very random things which may surprise you.

  • Passengers. Some people have been caught trying to use sex dolls as passengers in their cars, to be able to go in the car-pool lane.

  • Protection. Some women keep male sex dolls and mannequins sitting in the passenger seat in their car, to scare off possible carjackers.

  • Store mannequins. Sex dolls have been used as realistic mannequins in store windows, showing off clothes etc.

  • Scarecrows. The article I saw about this, showed a blow-up doll being used as a scarecrow.

  • Hookers. There have been brothels opening in various places in the world, where people can go to have sex with dolls and sex robots.

  • Movie props. There are lots of movies and TV shows containing sex dolls. Usually they show up in only one short scene or so. But there are also movies where one of the main characters is a sex doll.

I myself use my sex dolls as actors in my videos. These are done with picture slideshows with added subtitles to indicate talking amongst them. For me, this is a way to be creative.

bottom of page