top of page

Bedtime wigs

If you don't have a doll yet but are thinking of getting one, then this should be useful information to you. If you already have a doll and you store her in bed with her wig on, then you have probably noticed that her wig gets tangled quickly. Synthetic wigs in bed, become a complete mess in no time. So you may feel the need to buy new wigs every other month and throw out the tangled ones. Because no matter how much you brush them, you will most likely not be able to get them back into their original shape. There is a better solution. Bedtime wigs. You simply use one wig that you let her wear in bed while keeping your "nice" wigs out of bed at all time. This means you will only mess up one wig (per doll) and will never have to throw away wigs in order to constantly buy new ones.

These are my first two wigs, they have been used as bedtime wigs for more than a year and a half now:

As you can see, they don't look very good anymore. But since they are only bedtime wigs, it doesn't matter. I don't want to mess up all my wigs so they look like this. From the start, I tried to brush this out, but it was no use. I just tore off a big pile of hair, just to have the wigs tangled up again within a few days. I remember that I wondered why the wigs kept getting tangled, I messed up these two wigs before I realized that it was because they were worn in bed.

So whatever you do, do not let your favorite wigs go anywhere near your bed. Note: This is for synthetic wigs only. I have not purchased any wigs with real human hair, simply because they are too expensive for me. But I have been told that they are a lot easier to untangle, which makes sense. So if you insist on having only one wig and want your doll to sleep in it, then you should probably invest in one of those wigs, instead of a cheap synthetic one.

Some people tend to buy the same type of wig over and over again and just throw one away when it has tangled up too much, then replace it. This can be done, of course, but you can avoid spending that extra money simply by letting one wig be a tangled mess. She will only wear it at night and it's not like you're going to lay awake all night and look at the wig anyway.

The synthetic wigs are a bit difficult to maintain. I for one am not willing to invest time and energy trying to maintain them. It's cheaper to just keep one bedtime wig per doll. I have 3 dolls now, each sleeping in their own wig. That's 3 bedtime wigs, out of more than 25 wigs in total. The rest of my wigs are in almost perfect shape. Partially because I never let them near the bed and partially because I store them on proper wig stands.

My next post will be about wig stands, including a link to where you can buy them very cheap, so don't miss it.

bottom of page